compiler

General OpenMP discussion

compiler

Postby shubham » Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:30 pm

hi all i am new to this concept so can anyone pls give me a link where to get the compiler for Open-Mp with C++.
I'm having windows xp and AMD processor
thanks in advance
shubham

Re: compiler

Postby ejd » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:02 pm

There are a number of compiler vendors that produce C++ compilers that support OpenMP and can be run on Windows XP. Look at the OpenMP ARB website (openmp.org) and you will see a link under "OpenMP Compilers" (currently under "What's here" on the upper left part of the page).
ejd

Postby shubham » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:59 pm

Thanks a lot 4 replying but i could not able to use the GCC compiler i have already downloaded. is there any IDE that supports OpenMp like the DEVC++ which i have been using for a long time.
or otherwise tell me how can i use that zip file of GCC G++ 4.3.2
shubham

Postby ejd » Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:26 am

From your other post, it looks like you found an IDE, but are having problems. As I stated in the other post, I don't know exactly what the problem is, but have asked someone who knows gcc to respond.

As for the query about how to use the zip file, I have no idea where you got the file or what it contains. That makes it very hard to say much about how to use it unless you are asking about how to decompress it. For that you will have to consult the documentation that you hopefully got with the file since there are several "zip" formats (zip, gzip, bzip, bzip2, etc).
ejd

Postby shubham » Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:20 am

well it goes like this
initially i was looking for some IDE but then i downloaded MingW implementation of latest GCC version that is GCC 4.3.2 there is no IDE but thats ok. now when i compiled my first program i got hell lot of errors.
Code: Select all
C:\>gcc -fopenmp -lgomp -lpthread op.c
c:/mingw/bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/4.3.2/libgomp.a(parallel.o):parallel.c:(.text+0x